You are here

Bobby Hackett: Plays Mancini & Kaempfert

Error message

  • Deprecated function: Optional parameter $input declared before required parameter $form_state is implicitly treated as a required parameter in include_once() (line 1439 of /homepages/35/d447028832/htdocs/sites/music/prod/includes/
  • Deprecated function: unserialize(): Passing null to parameter #1 ($data) of type string is deprecated in css_injector_init() (line 53 of /homepages/35/d447028832/htdocs/sites/music/prod/sites/all/modules/contrib/css_injector/css_injector.module).
  1. Theme From ´Peter Gunn´
  2. A powdered Wig
  3. A profund Gass
  4. Baby Elephant Walk
  5. Soft Touch
  6. Don´t you forget it
  7. Days of Wine and Roses
  8. Theme From ´Mr. Lucky´
  9. Joanna
  10. Moon River
  11. Dreamsville
  12. Song About Love
  13. Danke Schön (Candlelight Cafe)
  14. Wonderland by Night (Wunderland bei Nacht)
  15. A Swingin´ Safari
  16. The Bass Walks
  17. Mexican Market Day
  18. Now And Forever
  19. Bert´s Tune
  20. Afrikaan Beat
  21. Sunday In Madrid
  22. Only Those In Love
  23. Take Me
  24. Happy Trumpeter (Magic Trumpet)
About this album: 

Tracks 13-24 from PLAYS THE MUSIC OF BERT KAEMPFERT (1963)

Originally released on Epic.

Liner Note Authors: Billy James ; Bert Kaempfert.

Recording information: 05/17/1963; 05/17/1963-11/14/1963; 05/23/1963; 05/25/1963; 11/12/1963; 11/13/1963; 11/14/1963.

Arranger: Dick Hyman.

Originally released in 1963 at a time when Bobby Hackett was playing trumpet behind Tony Bennett, these are jazz-oriented versions of pop hits popularized by Henry Mancini and Bert Kaempfert. These sessions from the vaults of Columbia Records are not essential, but it's fun lite pop/jazz that doesn't take itself too seriously and is easy to relax with. Some of the more familiar tunes included are Mancini's "Peter Gunn" and "Days of Wine and Roses," along with Kaempfert's "Wonderland by Night." ~ Al Campbell

Compact Disc availability: 

Collectables COL 7411